Decision and Control

One of the major areas of research in the Coordinated Science Laboratory is control. In fact CSL was originally named “Control Systems Laboratory” when it was founded in 1951. From then on, CSL has become one of the leading research centers in the field of control (Ranked 2nd worldwide). This great success is due to the CSL’s unique collaborative environment that promotes interdisciplinary research.

The Decision and Control session in CSL Student Conference provides an opportunity for researchers in this area to gather and discuss the latest advances in the field of control. The session includes a keynote lecture by a distinguished speaker followed by several student talks presenting their current research. We invite students across ALL majors to present their work in the areas related to (but not limited to) control theory, optimization, game theory, and robotics.

Confirmed Speakers

Keynote Speaker: Shreyas Sundaram – Purdue University

Talk Title – Coming Soon
Time and place – Thursday Feb. 7, 2pm-3pm  / TBA

Summary – Coming Soon
Shreyas Sundaram is an Associate Professor in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Purdue University.  He received his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 2009, and was a Postdoctoral Researcher at the University of Pennsylvania from 2009 to 2010.  He was an Assistant Professor at the University of Waterloo from 2010 to 2014.  His research interests include network science,  large-scale dynamical systems, fault-tolerant and secure control, game theory, linear system and estimation theory, and the application of algebraic graph theory to system analysis. Dr. Sundaram is a recipient of the NSF CAREER award, and an Air Force Research Lab Summer Faculty Fellowship.  At Purdue, he received the Hesselberth Award for Teaching Excellence, and the Ruth and Joel Spira Outstanding Teacher Award.  At Waterloo, he received the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Research Award in 2014, the University of Waterloo Outstanding Performance Award in 2013 and the Faculty of Engineering Distinguished Performance Award in 2012. He received the M. E. Van Valkenburg Graduate Research Award and the Robert T. Chien Memorial Award from the University of Illinois, both for excellence in graduate research, and he was a finalist for the Best Student Paper Award at the 2007 and 2008 American Control Conferences.

Invited Student Speaker

Name + affiliation
Talk Title
Time and place


UIUC Speakers